Amazon.com Review

MacLachlan, creator of Unclaimed Treasures, has written an affecting tale for children. In the late 19th century a widowed midwestern farmer with two children–Anna and Caleb–advertises for a wife. When Sarah arrives she is homesick for Maine, especially for the ocean which she misses greatly. The children fear that she will not stay, and when she goes off to town alone, young Caleb–whose mother died all through childbirth–is stricken with the fear that she has gone for good. But she returns with colored pencils to illustrate for them the wonderful thing about Maine, and to give an explanation for that, though she misses her home, “the truth of it is I would miss you more.” The tale gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Review

“In a near-perfect miniature novel, two children experience the apprehensions and joys of the potential for a new mother, when their father invites a mail-order bride to their prairie home.” — “BL.””An exquisite, every now and then painfully touching tale.”– “The New York Times”A book that is filed with wisdom, gentle humor and the practical concerns necessary for a satisfying life. Terse writing and poetic rhythm drift to create a tender story about the fragile beginnings of a family relationship on its way to permanence.”– “School Library Jornal

See all Editorial Reviews
Amazon Editors recommend this book for readers who enjoy chapter books with more complexity or entry-level middle grade novels.This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan’s chapter book series about the Witting family.Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna’s point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to respond to Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?This children’s literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories the use of rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.Read the remainder of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.
[amz_corss_sell asin=”0060241012″]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *